If you’ve been involved in an accident or traumatic experience at work and are suffering from PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), you may qualify for benefits through your workers’ compensation program. The Nevada Department of Business and Industry strives to provide impartial assistance to both employers and employees. The Department regulates a timely and accurate distribution of workers’ compensation benefits. Make sure you are familiar with your coverage and follow all compliance regulations and guidelines in order to take advantage of workers’ compensation PTSD benefits.
PTSD and Workers’ Compensation Coverage
Most injuries and illnesses that occur in the workplace are covered by workers’ compensation in the state of Nevada. Employees who file a workers’ compensation PTSD claim may qualify for the following benefits.
- Medical Treatment
- Lost Time Compensation (TTD/TPD)
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
- Vocational Rehabilitation
- Dependent benefits in the event of death
- Other claims-related expenses
Before filing a claim, it is important to be aware that there are factors relating to the incident which may disqualify you from receiving PTSD workers’ compensation.
- If the employee was not performing their usual business, occupation, or trade.
- If the employee was knowingly negligent when the injury occurred.
- If the employee was attempting to hurt themselves or another person.
- If the employee was traveling to or from work.
- If the employee was intoxicated at the time of the injury.
Workers’ Compensation PTSD Settlement
Notify your employer of any problems as soon as possible and find out what forms need to be filled out and any other steps that need to be taken. Visit your doctor and gather any information needed about your medical history and current situation. Make sure you take note of due dates and get everything turned in on time! Usually, you will have seven days to notify your employer and 90 days to file a claim for compensation.
If your claim is denied or disputed, there are a couple of things you can try before taking legal action. Start by contacting the insurance claims adjuster and see if you can resolve any issues with them. If that doesn’t work, you can request a hearing within 70 days. If you still do not feel the issue has been resolved after the hearing, you can appeal the hearing officer’s decision within 30 days.
If you decide to appeal after the hearing, now is the time you will want to speak with an attorney. Attorneys can be extremely helpful when it comes to keeping track of deadlines and evidence and effectively arguing your case.
Reach out to Ahlander Injury Law in Nevada if you need assistance with your PTSD workers’ compensation claim. Our attorney will speak with you personally and give you the attention you deserve. Learn more about why you need an attorney for your workers’ compensation claim and contact us today to set up an appointment!